Healthy Muffin Recipe

My Grandma recently shared a quick, easy and healthy muffin recipe with me that I would like to share with you. I made a few changes to the recipe when I made them yesterday because I had some frozen blueberries to use. I exchanged raisins with blueberries in the recipe, and decreased the sugar content because of the added blueberry sweetness.  I also found that I had to add a bit more oatmeal to the mixture because it was too wet. I always play around with recipes though so I’ll give you the original. Hope you enjoy!

Grandma Morgan’s Oatmeal Raisin Muffin Recipe

1 cup oatmeal
½ cup butter
1 cup boiling water
¾ cup raisins
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour (I used spelt)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
Salt
2 well beaten eggs

Mix together oatmeal, butter, water and raisins. Set aside to cool. Add rest of ingredients and mix until dry ingredients are moist. Put in lined muffin tins and bake at 375F for 12 – 15 minutes.
(These muffins also keep well in the freezer)

Leave a Reply

